Tel: -020 8839 2439 /
Learner Zone

What is the ACS Gas Scheme

What is ACS?

The Nationally Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS) is the industry recognised and accepted route for operatives to gain a certificate of competence, needed to become a member of the Gas Safe Register. ACS covers all areas of gas work including domestic NG, LPG, commercial heating, commercial catering, commercial laundry, meter installation and emergency service provision. The scheme is overseen by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS).

Joining the Gas Safe Register

  • You need to achieve your ACS qualification (or S/NVQ equivalent) in the areas of work in which you want to be registered.
  • On receipt of your certificate of competence, you will then be ready to apply to Gas Safe Register. Logic Certification will have downloaded your details to Gas Safe Register at the same time as issuing your ACS certificate of competence.
  • A probationary period is required by Gas Safe Register for newly qualified operatives or lapsed registration.
  • During the probationary period you must keep a record of all gas work carried out for Gas Safe Register to inspect. Certain tasks, like the installation of an appliance, must be notified to Gas Safe Register as detailed in the rules of registration.
  • Registration with the Gas Safe Register is a legal requirement for anyone carrying out gas work in the United Kingdom, Isle of Man and Guernsey.

ACS Elements Required

In all areas of gas work there is a core gas safety element which must be achieved before an individual appliance assessment can be undertaken. There are core gas safety elements for domestic NG, LPG, commercial heating, commercial catering, commercial laundry, emergency service provider and metering.

For Example:

Domestic Natural Gas:  

  • Core Domestic Gas Safety - CCN1 (compulsory), now includes combustion performance analysis

Once this has been completed, the appliance assessment relevant to your work can be completed:

  • Central Heating Boilers & Water Heaters - CENWAT
  • Cookers - CKR1
  • Gas Fires - HTR1
  • Meters - MET1
  • Warm Air Heaters - DAH1

For those moving from one ACS core to another there are changeover assessments that will assess the candidate in the areas that are not common to the original core. The candidate would then take the relevant appliance elements in relation to their specific job. Candidates should speak to their local approved ACS centre before undertaking the changeover assessment as additional training or experience may be necessary.

For Example:

  • CODNCO1 - Changeover from Domestic Natural Gas to Commercial Natural Gas
  • ICPN1 - Installation of Commercial Pipework
  • TPCP1A - Testing and Purging of Low Pressure Commercial Pipework, not exceeding 1m3 in volume, 21 mbar operating pressure - NG
  • CIGA1 - Installation of commercial indirect fired appliance

Managed Learning Programme for New Entrants

The Logic Certification Managed Learning Programme (MLP) is a training programme designed to meet the requirements for Category 2 and 3 entrants to the Nationally Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS). 

The MLP consists of:

  • Centre based managed training programme
  • 'On the job' work-based supervised training
  • Experience gained whilst under the supervision of a registered gas installer (acting as a mentor)
  • Upon successful completion of the MLP the candidate will then be able to undertake the ACS assessment

Logic Certification can approve centres to offer a recognised programme of managed training as an entry route into the following industry sectors:

  • Domestic Natural Gas
  • Liquefied Petroleum Gas
  • Non Domestic Heating
  • Commercial Catering

MLP has been designed to be easily understood by the candidate, mentor and approved centre and comes with all the necessary guidance and forms for centre-based training and on-site portfolio.

Back to top