Tel: -020 8839 2439 /

Qualification Details

Level 2 Award in the Principles of Metering for Renewable Heat Installations

The following training and assessment packages are certificated by Logic Certification Ltd to industry led standards

Title Content type
Qualification Title: Level 2 Award in the Principles of Metering for Renewable Heat Installations
LCL Qualification Code: PMRHI
RQF Qualification Code:


Level and Credit Value: Level: 2 Credit Value: 1
Guided Learning Hours: 5 GLH 10 TQT
Qualification Units:
  • Principles of Metering for Renewable Heat Installations
Qualification Certificate Expiry: None

This qualification is aimed at all staff involved in the selection, positioning or installation of heat meters in accordance with MCS Domestic RHI Metering GuidanceĀ  and covers the knowledge and understanding of the requirements for metering renewable heat installations, including how to select, position, install and commission heat meters and components. This qualification has been designed and led by industry including DECC, Ofgem, Beama, Hetas, Summit Skills and MCS.

Learners outcomes:
  • understand the requirements for metering renewable heat installations
  • understand how to select heat meter and components
  • know where to position meters and their components
  • know how to install heat meters
  • understand how to commission the heat meter installation
  • know how to fault find and maintain heat meters

No formal qualification requirements, but any learner looking to undertake this qualification should be involved in the renewables heat industry and should have a basic understand of the legislation and requirements affecting the renewable heat sector including the RHI. Learners should also have a sound knowledge and understanding of common renewable wet heating and hot water technologies and systems.

Assessment method:
Related qualifications:
Related downloads:
Related links and support material:

Candidates wishing to find a centre near to them can use the Find A Centre facility on this site.

Centres wishing to apply for approval to run the scheme should refer to the Centre Zone.

Back to top